I Runcouver: lululemon half marathon

Guess what?

I DID IT!

GOAL: Run a half marathon <- SQUASHED!


(I may have been hosed down after running cross the finish line… and it felt great!)

And no half marathon would be complete without the infamous race medal!

This past Saturday, August 11th, 2012 I knocked yet another goal off my bucket list: #2.2: Run a half marathon.

A while back I heard about this funnily named half marathon called the SeaWheeze, being held in Vancouver by none other than lululemon and knew this was my chance to tackle this goal so I began running. Prior to this training, I hadn’t even run a 10km race let alone even considered a 21.1km race! I love short, intense workouts where you give your all out max in quick short bursts for maximum results… basically I only ever used to run sprint intervals – these are MUCH different than teaching yourself how to pace run. But, I set myself this goal and the timing was right so I held myself to it and now, months later, I’ve successfully achieved it.

I did training runs with multiple close friends, but when it came time to actually runt he race, I was going in solo – so I hit up the SeaWheeze facebook page and found another runner also looking for a starting buddy!

It was so great to go to the run expo and have someone to start off with – thanks for the support Brittany!

How cool was the start and finish line?

I was aiming to do it anywhere between 1:45-2:00, but half way through I felt a little queasy and it set me back a few minutes. According to the sportstats chip reader, my chip crossed the finish line 2:08:51.8, from when it started! Even though it was a few minutes over my goal time, I have to admit I’m very proud of what I’ve accomplished.

I’m now in the half marathon alumni club and I even have the medal to prove it :)

This video is a beautiful depiction of how the day felt:

Thank you to all my friends and family who encouraged me to not give up and gave me the confidence to achieve this daunting goal!

Now, onto the next challenge… I’m thinking lifting, pushing, pulling and pressing heavy weights – anyone have any suggestions for me?

5 Comments

Filed under Personal Records

5 responses to “I Runcouver: lululemon half marathon

  1. Cole

    Have you tried CrossFit? I am curious about it.

    • Hey Cole,

      I haven’t actually been in a crossfit gym… but I train (or have trained in the past) using several of the crossfit elements. I’m hoping to get into crossfit as soon as get a few other priorities off the list. If you would like some help getting information on where to go in your area, shoot me an email and I’ll help you out!

  2. CONGRATULATIONS!!!! I remember back in the day seeing the goal written on your lulu drink bottle – and I am SO so proud of you for smashing that goal out of the park! Now you need a new drink bottle haha!

    Also – you are my inspiration….my first half marathon is coming up and I am looking to you and your amazing achievement and knowing that I can DO THIS.

    P.S. totes gonna try everything possible to runcouver with you next year! xx

    • Haha, thanks girl! Yes, well I still have two other goals on it.. run a full marathon by 2013 and be apart of change by 2014… lol EEK. I should probably keep on those goals! https://theprlife.wordpress.com/2011/05/31/halifax-and-back-again

      I’m so happy I can be your inspiration for this – I honestly know how it feels and how tough it can be mentally to believe that you CAN do it. I’m always around, you know that. I know you can do this, and you will. Just enjoy the training leading up to it <3

      Ps. You BETTER! I'm planning on blowing this year's time out of the water – we'll both be seasoned runners by then :)

  3. Pingback: SeaWheeze Half Marathon: Round Two! | The PR Life

Leave a Reply

