Roots, rocks and ramps

While running one of my long runs the other day I realized something pretty significant and I had to make note of it.

I had just run through a rough trail in the Pacific Spirit Park that was filled with roots, rocks and ramps and after literally zooming through it I came out of it feeling like I was flying. I kept running through the new trail with my music pumping through my head phones and I was really concentrating on how my body felt, paying close attention to how my breathing was, how my legs and feet were moving and the little voice inside my head saying don’t stop now! I glanced down at my nike+ distance tracker which read just over 13km and it occurred to me that after 13 km straight… I felt amazing.

I know that this upcoming half marathon has been a goal of mine for awhile and even thought I’ve been training like I should be for such a distance… I’m still nervous. I can’t help but think: What if I wake up late? What if I suddenly get sick? What if I pull something and can’t finish? What if I can’t do it… and then I stop and realize I’m already doing it.

All to often we forget that most of what we tell ourselves we can or cannot do isn’t dependent on our actually ability to do it… but rather on our determination and mental perseverance to get through it.

I feel better, stronger, faster, healthier and more grateful now than I’ve ever felt (and that’s saying a lot!). I know I have many physical goals and walls to climb over ahead but the journey getting there has enabled me to truly appreciate the small wins I’ve achieved and noticed along the way. I may not be able to do pull-ups or dead lift my body weight yet (I will get there)… but I sure as hell can run 21km straight!

Right now I have a half marathon to conquer; whatever happens I will be proud of what I’ve been able to do in order to get myself exactly to where I am today – and I know this is only the beginning for me.

And just because this post was way to serious, please enjoy the following photos of Faith and I on the VERY WINDY ferry ride to Nanamio this past long weekend (Faith don’t kill me!):

You’re welcome.

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal Records

Leave a Reply

