Gratitude Journal

I often experience the overwhelming feeling that I have to be doing more, more, more – all the time. From my social life, fitness, job, personal goals and doing things for friends, I find myself constantly needing and wanting more – often forgetting to appreciate the now.

I don’t know why we feel like we can never have enough – enough money, enough friends, enough stuff (I hate the consumerist society we live in), enough recognition – and I sometimes fell myself getting overwhelmed at the possibility that opportunities can bring. I constantly think about “well what if”…. and “yeah but I could have” and the “now I need this” that I feel so overwhelmed that I consciously have to step back and remind myself how extremely fortunate I am for everything I have in my life at this exact moment.

My friend recently sent me this video featuring Oprah and her concept of a Gratitude Journal and I instantly knew that this was something I would take away a lot from doing personally. As Oprah said, and I truly believe, “Be thankful for what you have; you’ll end up having more. If you concentrate on what you don’t have, you will never, ever have enough.”


The challenge: set out each day with the intention of writing down 5 things she was grateful for that day. They could be simple things like watching the sunset over the ocean, your best friend, the fact that you made your bus connection today, that your coworker treated you to lunch, etc. Anything that you recognize as being great things in the now.

Oprah says that once you start writing down events that occur throughout the day which you are truly grateful for – you will allow yourself to feel more happiness and gratitude in your life. You will begin to notice a change in your state of being, find yourself feeling happier and opening up to experiencing the incredible experiences and things you have right now.

What are you grateful for? Grab a notebook and start writing them down!

1 Comment

Filed under Personal Records, Positive Reinforcement

One response to “Gratitude Journal

  1. Pingback: My Gratitude Journal | The PR Life

Leave a Reply

