It’s race time!

Happy Saturday!

My typical Saturday (pre current job) consisted of working out, coffee, local markets and hopefully sunshine… but it’s now turned into early rising, lazying getting ready for the office and hopping on the bus to work. I’m not complaining because my job is great (I’m so grateful to have a job and I get Monday’s off!) but I miss my Saturday morning routine. The good news? This won’t last forever so I’ve learned to appreciate the chill, quiet office on Saturdays that allow me to think and work without constant distractions.

Writing, coffee, water!

Tomorrow morning I am running in my first ever actual race! I’ve been running for quite some time now, but I typically stick to interval running (MUCH different than distance running I will tell you!). It just so happens that on my long list of personal goals, one in particular upon moving to Vancouver, was to run a half marathon in 2012. When I found out earlier this year that lululemon was holding their first ever half in Vancouver – I knew this was my time to actually do this half-marathon in 2012! So, I decided to also sign up for the Sunrun 10km as a warm up race to get a feel for how organized races function. 

It’s a 10km, and even though I’ve run 10km before, I’m still slightly nervous! The Vancouver Sunrun is an incredibly popular 10km race with 50,000 people running every year. Although it is 10km and I really had hoped to run it with good time (sub 50 minutes)… I’ve been pre-warned that the crowd is so huge it’s hard to even walk, let alone run.. especially at first. Even so, I’m really excited and am super fortunate that I am able to run 10km. I know how hard it can be to start out from no running ability whatsoever – but if I can do it, so can you!

Something that often bothers me is people’s hesitation to try something new that’s fitness related because of fear. Fear of not being able to do it, fear of looking silly or “new” because they don’t know proper form or coordination, fear of others looking at them because they don’t know what they are doing… but you know what? Everyone has to start somewhere and all those others who are pressing crazy impressive weight, pulling things around as if they were weightless, pushing themselves to the limit – all started at the bottom. I really want to encourage you to compare yourself to others when it comes to your own fitness. I believe that fitness is for everyone, no matter what their fitness level, it’s all about pushing your body to your limit – not others around you.

I’m also continuing to train with kettlebells and have begun the route of getting kettlebell certified so I can teach! I’ve been thinking about becoming a personal trainer now for a while and thought instead of starting from the ground up – I would start where I felt comfortable. I’ve tried many, many, many different types of strength training, and I honestly cannot boast enough about the benefits that a short kettlebell workout can do for you. Since I already know quite a bit about kettlebell I’ve decided to learn how to teach so I can teach others about the great benefits of kettlebell training.

Are you a personal trainer or fitness enthusiast in Vancouver who would like to get kettlebell certified? Agastsu Certifications is Canada’s leading kettlebell educators and they are coming to Vancouver! For all level 1 certifications, they need at least 10 people to sign up to come to your city – so check it out, tell your friends and get more information!

New personal goal to achieve by the end of May: 10 consecutive unassisted pullups!

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal Records

Leave a Reply

