Morning workouts = love

I know I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I love working out in the morning!

What are the benefits might you ask? I feel a thousand times better throughout the day and I don’t have the workout pressure on the brain (I think about my workout all day long until I accomplish it which is kind of an anxiety thing). You don’t have to pack all your workout gear + work clothes + shower stuff + food to lug around all day because you have already done all of that!

Sounds fool-proof and amazing right? True…. but (there is a but to alllll of this) the early morning wake up is brutal! It’s really hard to pull yourself out of bed at 5:30 am to go to the gym. Really. Hard. The way I look at it is once I get to the gym – I’m good to go. I don’t like to half-ass my workouts so when I’m in the zone – I give it my all.

In case you missed the last post – I’ve started the Body for Life program! Today was day #2, aerobic intervals and was a success. I completed my workout, ate clean and had 6 mini meals today. I’m feeling more confident that I can stick to this plan… as long as I continue to plan – both workouts and food.

The workout went really well. I love interval training (HIIT) and I like how quick the workout goes by. This is definitely an excellent program for me so far! Since it was my first time doing this workout I wasn’t sure of the levels I thought I could run at for the different intervals so I winged it and came pretty close to what I figured I could do.

For this workout I had the treadmill at an incline of 1.5 and ran at the speeds indicated during that minute of the workout. I didn’t stop once and powered thorough until the 20 minutes was up. You can apparently do this interval training with any cardio machine (bike, elliptical, running outside, etc.) but I like running so I am going to choose to stick to that for my aerobic training part of the program. I might take it outside and see what I can accomplish or try a different piece of cardio equipment if I get bored with the treadmill.

I printed off a hard copy of the full schedule and some daily progress reports so I won’t have to draw out my report like this again. If it’s already working, why re-create the wheel, right? I love crossing things off – so I’ve got to have everything on paper!

In stead of posting my food journal every day on here.. I figured I would have a separate post about it called Body for Life Food Journal and keep updating that every day so you can go check out what I’ve been eating.

I will probably include some foods and give a description of what they are. For example this meal I cooked last night and had for lunch at work today:

Bok choy, tomatoes, onion, mushrooms, broccoli, red peppers, cucumber, garlic, seasoning + can of rinsed cooked black beans + can of tuna. I topped it odd with a few spoons of salsa and a dollop of greek non-fat yogurt! High in protein, low in fat and carbs = delicious!

Ok that’s it for today folks – time to sleep so I can get up at 5:30am and hit the gym for day #3!

Night!

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal Records

Leave a Reply

