Hire me lululemon: Volume 2

When I moved to Vancouver, I came with big dreams of working for a company that would allow me to keep pursuing my personal goals as well as helping achieve theirs. lululemon.

Moving here was probably one of the biggest and scariest things I’ve ever done. Even though I knew my best friend would be following me in a month’s time… I came here with two suitcases, a temporary place to live, zero contacts and big goals in my head. From that day a mere two months ago, I’ve met more connections than imaginable, sat through and turned down several job opportunities and have lucked into meeting amazing people who are helping me grow as a professional and a person.

Last month I saw a position posted for lululemon and knew that I had to apply. Even though I sent in my resume and asked all of you to support my initiative – I was too late.

This time, I stepped up my game 100 fold. The position I’m applying for is the Digital Innovation Intern. I knew I had to blow the lululemon team away and come up with a concept that demonstrated how creative, motivated and innovative I can be. The position I’m applying for is not only going to allow me to get my foot in the door, but to work on a game-changing project called “Make Your Mark.” I have no idea what goals they are trying to achieve, the angle they are aiming for or the strategy that is going to be involved, so I decided to take matters into my own hands and hit the streets with how I felt I could Make my Mark!

With the help of my best friend, we set out on the streets of Kitsilano asking random people“How will you Make your Mark on the World?” I was awed and inspired by the people we had the pleasure of meeting. Here are their amazing stories and my application to the Digital Innovation Internship for lululemon:

(Watch in 720p/HD for the best quality!)

In addition, please check out my first post about my dream to be hired by lululemon – Goal: To be hired by Lululemon where more than 50 personal contacts and friends left messages explaining how perfect I would be for the lululemon team. My Goals page which list my 1, 5 and 10 year health, personal and career goals. My Bucket List.

You can get to my resume here where you will find my contact information and work history. References will be available upon request.

Thank you for taking the time to review my application to the Digital Innovation Internship position and to all who have inspired and supported me to get to this place in my life. (Extra special thank you goes to my best friend, Faith Bowyer.)

I will Make my Mark on the World by inspiring others to set scary goals, passionately go after them, achieve them and set even bigger ones.

Either way, what ever the outcome will be, I have realized what I’m capable of achieving and I know that if selected,I will be an asset to the Digital Guest Experience team at lululemon athletica.

Sincerely, Amanda  Munro

21 Comments

Filed under Personal Records

21 responses to “Hire me lululemon: Volume 2

  1. way to go amanda!!! this is really creative. the best part, i think, is that you gave those people an opportunity to consider their positive affirmations in the middle of their day. which in all likelihood they may not have considered otherwise. they took a few minutes out of their day to do something that made them feel great. that’s a fantastic gift.

    • Kaylee

      Matt, you are so right. What better way to “make your mark” then go out and do what she does best and leave people thinking and inspired=)

      By the way, why did the West Coast get all the gems??]

  2. Kat O'Halloran

    Awesome job Amanda and what a great idea!! How could Lulu not hire you after seeing this ;) Best of luck!

  3. Lia Scanlan

    One word = amazing…they would be very lucky to have you on board; this is a small piece of what you will bring to the table, good for you for going after what you want! xx

  4. Keshia

    Girl, I love your smile! This video was amazing! One thing for sure if that you now have people thinking about making their mark! Best of luck!

  5. Janine

    Look at you go! Love this! Best of luck!

  6. Kaylee

    As per usual, you went above and beyond…and you are just warming up=)

  7. Ann

    Great demo Amanda! Wow, I’m not only impressed but inspired :-D Post back and let us know if you get the job! :)

  8. Gillian

    AMANDA THIS IS SO GREAT! You approach each day with open heart and you brighten the world around you. This video proves that. Lulu, hire her already!

  9. Deanna Jones

    Amanda,
    You have no idea how much of an inspiration you are. I have been going to the gym fairly regularly since before Christmas, but since I have started reading your blog I have started doing ten minute trainer videos most days and have made some great changes in my diet and am feeling so much healthier. I hope that some day I can make the tough decisions that will make me happy like you did by moving to Vancouver.

    The application is amazing! Good luck! Lululemon would be lucky to have you on their team.

    • Deanna,
      Thank you so much for leaving this comment it means so much to me to know that I have inspired you to work hard for something – and achieve it. You can achieve anything you set your mind to – all you need to do is make the first move and hold yourself accountable for following through. Make a list and start crossing things off – you will see how much more meaningful the actions you cross off are.
      Thank you so much for the well wishes and keep me updated on the big goals you deside to take on! :)

  10. Esther

    Great Job Amanda. Seriously impressed.

  11. Laura Kingston

    ABSOLUTELY PERFECT. P.S. That was a good looking Warrior 3… but make sure your foot diesn’t rest on your knee joint in TREE POSE lol. xoxox

  12. Sonya Horsburgh

    Hi Amanda,

    Your blog is making its way around the office. Wow! As always – creative, fun and genuine. I will keep my fingers crossed and wish you all the best.

    Good luck and take care,
    Sonya

    • Hey Sonya!
      Thank you so much for following! :) It makes me so happy to hear that it reached everyone back home! I just wanted to let you guys know that I did meet up with past graduate Alex Dimas and we are hitting it off wonderfully – it’s so great to meet a friend through the program, but even better when they were already out west! Thank you for all the hard work that you all do – trust me, we all appreciate you and your hard work more than we openly voice it directly to you. You are all amazing people and no one would ever be as successful throughout the program if it weren’t for you all.

      Please send my hello’s around the office! :)

      Take Care,
      Amanda

  13. Scott Daniels

    Hi Amanda,

    Great website and awesome “Make Your Mark” video! It made me smiling just watching it.

    Wishing you all the best with your interview today!

    All the best and take care,

    Scott

  14. Pingback: I Have Exciting News! | The PR Life

  15. Pingback: Top five moments | The PR Life

Leave a Reply

