To-Do Lists!

When I talk about to-do lists, I’m not kidding when I say I write one everyday.

No matter where you look, my iphone, my desk, my notebooks, my white board, my bag, my wall (literally) – I’ve got tasks to accomplish written down! I think my obsession with to-do lists started when I started my first communications job. I’m not sure if it’s a touch of ADHD or if I just have so many tasks running through my head at all times – but I need to make list in order to stay focused. Not only does it help me stay on-task, it is my #1 way to track my success and feel accomplished!

I don’t know about you – but there is something a little very satisfying when you cross an accomplishment off that list!

If you are looking for motivation to keep yourself on track  – my advice is start making to-do’s! Whether they are long-term, short-term or daily (I have them all!) start somewhere and see where it takes you! One word of advice: Do not get discouraged if you don’t start crossing tasks off right away! You are your biggest critic, only you can make yourself feel guilty about your own actions.

So grab a pen and paper and get writing – you’ll be surprised how satisfying it can be!

As far as good food and fitness today – two big CHECKS!

The day started with the daily oats, followed by coffee (self-control made me NOT eat the wonderfully smelling muffins at the coffee shop), a snack of carrots + hummus followed by lunch downtown with Faith.

Grilled chicken on a fresh focaccia bread + avocado + chipotle mayo and paprika! Followed by a non-fat americano misto!

 

As we were walking downtown, these cute Easter chocolate-covered apples caught our eyes! The smell of chocolate and wonderfulness wafting from Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory almost made us give in – but we controlled ourselves and took pictures from the window outside :)

This little guy was my favourite!

Once I got home I focused and starting replying to emails and getting tasks accomplished! First we had a cute distraction:

I can’t help it! I miss my Charlie at home but this little guy is a frequent visitor around our house and Faith and I have dubbed him Louis. He visits from time to time and is a purrrrr-fect happy distraction!

One major nick off the list – booking my flight to come home for the last weekend in May! It’s my oldest friend (When I say oldest, I mean longest – we’ve been friends basically since I was old enough to walk) Angela’s wedding – and she asked me to be a bridesmaid! So i will be home in Nova Scotia from May 26th – May 30th! Keep it in mind everyone :)

Insanity 2.23 – completed!

 I actually think I’m more excited to get through this round so I can tackle Insanity: The Asylum! Too. Excited.

Then it was dinner time (sautéed veggies + egg whites + salsa) and company research time! I’m going to a potential interview tomorrow? I’m not 100% sure what might come out of it.. so the lack of detail is due to the fact that I am very superstitious and do not want to jinx anything. I will let you know when I know :)

Now the very last thing on the agenda: My Birthday!

So this Saturday (April 23rd) is my Champagne Birthday! In 4 days I will be 23 ( <– INSANE!) on the 23rd!

Since I am in a new city and let’s be honest, have a very small network of friends and a very limited cash flow, and have no idea what we should do to celebrate my birthday. Do you have any ideas of what Faith and I should do to celebrate my birthday in style? I’d love to hear of things you (or friends) have done in the past, or any other fun ideas we could do on a budget!

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal Records, Positive Reinforcement

Leave a Reply

