The PR Project

The days are seriously fly-ing-by! I have no idea where the time is going – it’s literally 12am and I’ve only just started writing the post of the day!

Just to change it up a bit, I’m going to go in reverse chronological order of today’s happenings. Things are still on track as far as OSD! I squeezed in Insanity 2.8 – Cardio Power and Resistance late this evening and have yet to slip up (un-clean food or alcohol!) on the eat-clean diet plan! I had a wonderful green monster + PB & J on a pita + a few crackers and goat cheese. Odd combination I know – but it worked (sorry I forgot to take pictures!).

<— Gold Star for me!

Have I mentioned how much I love living in this house and how AWESOME my housemates are? When I first arrived here, I had no idea what to expect of the place I’d be living, or who i’d be living with… but it only took me a few days of being here to realize how much I had lucked out. I knew once Faith arrived we would stay here for a bit in order to get settled and then plan out our next move. But once she arrived and we started discussing and realizing how lucky we are to have found this location and these wonderful people – we have decided to stay for the summer! We are literally blocks from the beach, are surrounded by lots of great coffee shops and boutiques and we are only 15 minutes by bus from downtown!

Our housemates are very glad to hear the news as well :)

Earlier this evening Faith and I decided not to let the pouring rain get the best of us and grabbed our books (left the laptops at home!) and headed to 49th Parallel (@49thParallel) to relax, enjoy a (non-fat) latte and read.

Our drinks were phenomenal (hot chocolate on the left for Faith and latte for me on the right) – and we got the most comfortable seats in the house!

I’ve heard a lot of good things about The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin – and frankly it’s the kind of book that’s right up my alley so I bought it the other day :) The book is about the author herself and how:

she chronicles her adventures during the twelve months she spent test-driving the wisdom of the ages, current scientific research, and lessons from popular culture about how to be happier. Rubin didn’t have the option to uproot herself, nor did she really want to; instead she focused on improving her life as it was. Each month she tackled a new set of resolutions: give proofs of love, ask for help, find more fun, keep a gratitude notebook, forget about results.

I’ve made it a goal to read a chapter a day/night to continue to keep me inspired – so that’s my plan! The first chapter started off with Gretchen explaining how she got to the point in her life where she realized she needed to find more happiness and how she planned to do it.

One concept she mentioned that really resounded with me was the notion of self-happiness being a selfish goal. She questioned  and asked if it was “extremely self-centered to be spending so much time on your own happiness?” As she continues, she talks about ancient philosophers who have argued that working towards happiness is a worthy goal. Modern research shows that happy people are scientifically proven to be:

more altruistic, more productive, more helpful, more likeable, more creative, more resilient, more interested in others, friendlier, and healthier. Happy people make better friends, colleagues, and citizens… Working on my happiness wouldn’t just make me happier, it would boost the happiness of the people around me.

I stopped reading for a moment after this sentence because she just put into words what I’ve been trying to make others around me understand for years. I do truly believe that happy people are infectious. They lift the moods of everyone in the room. They bring a positive perspective (my third PR anyone?) that creates others to want to work harder and push themselves to be better. If someone else can be happy – why can’t you?

I unintentionally realized that I am living my own happiness project… only I call mine The PR Life. Welcome everyone :)

The earlier part of today was less exciting but equally as productive. I spent a few hours doing some research for a company whom I may soon be doing some part-time work for (<— very excited for this :D) and drinking coffee and eating a veggie panini for lunch.

You know, the typical Amanda Monday.

And lastly, now that I’m only a few hours away from this mouth-watering breakfast food again: my morning oats!

Faith introduced me to a really cool flickr site yesterday so I’m trying to make my breakfast photo’s a little more entertaining for you all! First step thinking of new visual set ups… next step venturing away from my delicious bowl of oats in the morning to provide variety! One step at a time people – it’s all about gradually implementing change and keeping it simple. Don’t worry – once I decide to switch it up you all will be the first to know!

What is your favourite breakfast?

I thought I’d leave you with this cute photo I saw on Booje Media’s facebook page:– NIGHT!

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Positive Reinforcement

2 responses to “The PR Project

  1. M

    The happiness project is a wicked book, enjoy!!

  2. Kingsland Roofing

    Your style is unique in comparison to other folks I
    have read stuff from. Many thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I will just book mark this blog.

Leave a Reply

