Master Plan

Alright, this is it – this time I’m going to achieve my ultimate goal –starting tomorrow, operation slim down is in effect. Today I am sitting and planning out every single detail in order to have a plan in place that constitutes both food and exercise to get me where I’ve been struggling to reach for years (check out the about section for the full story coming soon). I’ve literally tried almost everything in different capacities to reach the point where I am today and while it was successful – I aspire to be greater. Although many will tell me I look great and have come so far in a few short years – I want to do better. I know what is possible and I want to achieve it. Not for anyone else, but for me.

In case you don’t know, I’m a huge believer in goal setting. I’m not sure if it’s the strategic public relations practitioner in me, or the knowledge of what’s worked for others along the way – but I know that the practice of constantly setting goals and tracking them is the sure-fire way to success. The basic concepts to successful goal-setting are to make both short-term and long-term goals. In order to set an achievable goal you have to be realistic with yourself. You must also track them by writing them down (or in my case blogging them) and make them achievable, specific and measurable! Example: Eat a clean and sliming diet in order to achieve my weight loss goal. How am I going to reach this you might ask? By an organized plan! Today I am going to research and write down (or find a plan online) a detailed food plan. In order to make sure I follow it, I’m going to make sure I have all the groceries and actually take the time to cook, and prepare meals ahead of time. So, let’s do a quick inventory! Realistic and achievable? Check, check! Specific? I will be posting the food plan asap – so check! And Measurable – I will follow and track it on a daily basis in order to measure my success of following it – so CHECK! And that’s how I am going to reach the food tracking goal. Simple enough right?

I know all this might be slightly overwhelming, but it’s really simple when it comes down to it. One of my favourite companies who believes and promotes the concept of goal-setting is Lululemon Athletica (ultimate professional goal is to work here). If you go to the goal-setting part of their site they have a fantastic forum you can fill out and it will keep you on track with your goals! Visit here –> http://www.lululemon.com/education/goalsetting

I think one of the most important aspects of living a fulfilling life is to reach that essential point where your daily actions are not to impress or make other people happy – but they are to make you happy. One of my main beliefs is that when it comes down to it after all other conflict and concern in your life – you are in charge of you. You can do whatever you want, in what every capacity you want – it’s achievable. You have got to think this way in order to be the best person you can be – for yourself and no one else. The hardest part about the entire journey is telling yourself that you can achieve it, but as long as you are fair to yourself, do what you feel, and take every change in moderation – be things can be achieved.

Ok so maybe you are saying, sure Amanda easier said than done! Right? Of course you are! We are conditioned to question ourselves and to constantly believe that we cannot possibly reach our goals because it’s “too hard.” Our jobs are too demanding, you don’t know where to begin, you’re life is too busy to possibly exercise everyday AND eat well! Well I think you can do it, if you really want to do it you will figure out a way – I promise. Plus, if you need a little inspiration, I hope you’ll be able to find it here in some way or another.

On that note, time to organize the plan! Task #1 – Make food plan! Task #2 – Make exercise schedule! More to come soon!

1 Comment

Filed under Personal Records

One response to “Master Plan

  1. M

    You truly are an inspiration! <3

Leave a Reply

